Equine Advocates is holding a summit on horse slaughter this weekend, and one of the proponents of a ban on the NYC carriage horses, Elizabeth Forel, has been invited to speak on the topic. EA is of the mindset that the NYC carriage horses should be banned (based on what facts, I have yet to hear), but I find it beyond disappointing that it is offering its audience such a one-sided presentation on the NYC carriage horses. Ms. Forel not only has zero hands-on, day-to-day experience with horses, but she has been caught in several out-and-out lies about the NYC carriage horses. Frankly, it makes the entire Summit suspect.

In a post regarding the requests that have been pouring in to EA asking that supporters of the NYC carriage horse industry be allowed to speak at the summit, Ms. Forel, asked some questions that I feel compelled to respond to:

EF: Why are they so afraid of me?

A: No one, and I repeat NO ONE is “afraid” of you. But turnaround is fair play – why are you so afraid of supporters of the NYC carriage horse industry speaking at the EA summit?

EF: For anyone who wants to see the truth – this is our web site. For those who want to believe them when they talk fantasy about “box stalls”, “fake unions” “phony vacations” where even the former ASPCA vet said that when horses return from this so-called vacation, they do not look good (NYPost)

A: Oh, you mean the website and Facebook pages that are censored so that anyone contradicting your “facts” is banned? There are actual box stalls – I’ve seen them myself, been in them, and there are tons of pictures of them on Facebook and elsewhere. In addition, I believe your “spies” at the last ClipClop got plenty of pictures of them as well. “Fake Unions”? I don’t think you can call Teamsters Local 553 “fake”. And the vacations are real – again, you can see plenty of pictures all over Facebook and elsewhere. Besides, you yourself have admitted that horses “disappear” – they are actually on vacation! As mandated by law! But, I forget that you can’t tell one grey horse from another, so that’s probably where your confusion comes in. As for the vet, I believe you are referring to the vet that subsequently retracted her claims about the NYC carriage horses – don’t believe me? You can read all about it here: http://tinyurl.com/cwplyk2

I would also like to point out that Ms. Forel’s “campaign” is supported by WAR, which was founded by a convicted animal hoarder/abuser (http://tinyurl.com/92rlo2x), PETA, which kills over 97 percent of the animals it takes in, including ones it admits are adoptable (http://tinyurl.com/cwvjnsu), NYCLASS, co-founded by real estate developer Steve Nislick (http://tinyurl.com/6motv35), the ASPCA, which gave $450,000 to NYCLASS (from donations? hmmm) (a little something on the ASPCA’s agenda as far as the carriage horses are concerned: http://tinyurl.com/dx6kown), and H$U$, which gives less than one percent of the millions it raises to shelters (http://tinyurl.com/9s5lp4p) and whose president/CEO, Wayne Pacelle, has stated when asked if he envisioned a future without pets, “If I had my personal view, perhaps that might take hold. In fact, I don’t want to see another dog or cat born.” Bloodties: Nature, Culture and the Hunt by Ted Kerasote, 1993, p. 266.

Now if I may be so bold as to ask Ms. Forel a question – how many times have you been in the NYC carriage horse stables? And I mean actually “inside”?

Yeah. That’s what I thought.

So the censorship and lies go on…

